Andromeda Sleeper Hold

Issue_6_ShroudMagazineWell, it’s time to play catch-up. After months of being good and posting a regular blog, I’ve been neglecting it lately. So much has happened since I last posted. So let’s bring things up to date.

My interviews with Nick Cato and Andre Duza, which first appeared on this blog, were published on Fear Zone in early July, and Nick’s first novel DON OF THE DEAD (described as a cross between Romero zombie movies and THE GODFATHER) is now available. This guy kicks ass, so go to Amazon or Barnes and Noble now (or wherever you normally get books) and get yourself a copy. I got a signed copy myself that I plan to read very soon. And I am really looking forward to it.

Went to Necon 29. This is the ninth year in a row that Laura and I have gone to Necon, a horror writers’ convention in Rhode Island. This year was kind of low-key (several regulars didn’t show up this year) , but I got to hang out with a lot of friends, got to talk to some people I hadn’t known so well before, and I met John Skipp (yes, of the infamous Skipp and Spector who churned out some great horror novels in the 80s), the Guest of Honor. Skipp’s a hero of mine, so it was great to finally meet him.

I got to be on a panel again this year (a horror movie panel which included myself and my fellow Cinema Knife Fighter Michael Arruda, as well as filmmaker Mark Steensland, Matt (Shocklines) Schwartz, and moderator/writer Craig Shaw Gardner). This is the second year in a row we’ve had this kick-ass panel and it was a lot of fun. I also got to play a (small) part in this year’s roast (this year it was Yvonne Navarro and her hubby, Weston Ochse), although I have yet to have a speaking part in one of these things.

It was also Nick Cato’s first Necon, so I got to hang out with him a lot, and we did some interviews with a few writers, where I was wearing the monkey mask. We even filmed a parody of Mark Steensland’s great short film PEEKERS. If you need a good laugh, what you should do is go to www.marksteensland.com first, check out his short film PEEKERS and then go to YouTube and check out our spoof:CRAPPERS.

The latest Cinema Knife Fight review went up earlier this week. We reviewed the new evil kid movie, ORPHAN, and it was one of the rare times when Michael and I both liked the movie. Check it out HERE

I really wanted to see the new movie THE COLLECTOR this weekend. It’s directed and written by some guys who were also involved in several of the SAW movies and supposedly pays tribute to some of the more extreme European films that have come out lately (Inside, Martyrs, etc.). But whoever is distributing this movie is doing a shitty job. The movie isn’t playing in the city at all and is only way out in the middle of nowhere. No idea what the logic is behind that, but the multiplex I usually go to had a poster for the movie as well as showed the trailer before ORPHAN. Why advertise it if you have no intention of showing it? I don’t get it.

Been enjoying Edie Falco’s new show on Showtime, NURSE JACKIE, where she plays a rough-edged nurse with a heart of gold who’s addicted to painkillers. At first I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it, but it’s really growing on me. The new season of TRUE BLOOD has been terrific so far. I love that show! And the new HBO show after it,HUNG (starring Thomas Jane, who has played the Punisher – in the second movie version – as well as having starred in the excellent Stephen King adaptation THE MIST),  has yet to really wow me. I’m watching, but it’s nothing incredible so far.

Otherwise, I just got the manuscript for DARK JESTERS, the anthology of humorous horror stories I am co-editing with Nick Cato for Novello Publishers. It’s coming out later this fall, and I plan to edit the manuscript this weekend. I also plan to get my killer apeman novella done soon (my latest project).

And the new issue of SHROUD MAGAZINE just came out. Number 6. It has a blue cover and among lots of names on the cover, you’ll see mine. My story “Something Blue” is inside, if you wanna check it out. SHROUD is available at your local Barnes and Noble.

Otherwise, just been really busy at my day job, and looking forward to my next convention this fall, KillerCon.

That’s all for now. You’re up to speed. Now I have to try to update this thing more regularly.

Leave a Reply

