The New Year Approaches…

Haven’t posted in awhile. Lots going on lately.

First off, I need to post some reviews for a bunch of flicks I saw on cable and DVD, including: the new JJ Abrams STAR TREK (yeah, I finally saw it), GRACE, MASKHEAD, BOOKS OF BLOOD, and more. A bunch of quickie reviews (at least) will be coming soon.

In the meantime, I need to work on the “BEST OF 2009” column for Cinema Knife Fight. I have a dilemma – a couple of my favorite movies of the year weren’t horror (though these were less than past years) – so I’ll be doing a list for CKF, and another one here that will include a few different movies.

I was supposed to review Heath Ledger’s last movie, THE IMAGINARIUM OF DOCTOR PARNASSUS (directed by the great Terry Gilliam) this weekend, but it’s in limited release (just NY and L.A.) and didn’t come here. I guess at some point it has to go into wide release and then we’ll see it for Cinema Knife Fight. I was actually disappointed. I want to see this one.

I’m also on the fence about the new SHERLOCK HOLMES flick, starring Robert Downey, Jr. and directed by Guy Ritchie. The idea of Holmes as an action hero bugs me a little, but at the same time, the trailer looked like a lot of fun. So I might see it eventually.

One thing I read that totally ticked me off was an interview with director PETER JACKSON, whose new movie is an adaptation of Alice Sebold’s THE LOVELY BONES. In the book, the lead character is a girl who was raped and murdered and who watches her family from the afterlife, and it begins with a pretty graphic and intense description of the murder. In the interview, Jackson said he toned this way down in order to get a PG-13 rating. Why? Because he wanted to “make a movie that his daughter could go see.” WTF? So Sebold’s work is castrated just so Jackson can make a family friendly flick? I am in shock, because this is the same guy who directed DEAD ALIVE (one of the bloodiest movies ever) and HEAVENLY CREATURES (which was about two girls who killed one of their mothers, and certainly wasn’t sanitized for our protection). But supposedly his sensibility has changed now that he’s become a parent. Screw that! I have to admit, I was thinking of seeing LOVELY BONES and reviewing it, either solo or for Cinema Knife Fight, but when I read this, I decided to boycott this movie. Sebold deserves better. And Jackson has totally lost his way as a director.

I got some new ink. This time it’s the head of Boris Karloff as Frankenstein’s monster. Came out great. Since the 1931 movie FRANKENSTEIN was the first movie I saw as a kid that totally sucked me into horror, this is rather fitting. My artist actually traded doing it for some vinyl records I had, so it was kind of a Christmas gift to myself.

And I got a Kindle for x-mas. I mainly wanted it because I have piles of books in the office (we don’t have anywhere near enough bookcases or room), and electronic books sound like a nice alternative. I’ll still get fancy limited editions by my favorite authors, but as far as paperbacks go, I’m gonna be a lot more apt to read them electronically. But first, I have to get used to reading on the Kindle. and that may take a bit, because I’m just not used to it.

Speaking of books, I need to post something soon about Bryan Smith’s new one, DEPRAVED, from Leisure. This was one of my favorite books of 2009, and I finished reading it on Christmas morning. Very Richard Laymon-esque as far as the subject matter and pacing, but Smith also has a very cool style all his own. I definitely recommend this one.

Otherwise, writing a few things to submit for some anthologies that are out there, and then I really need to focus on the new novel. So I’ve got plenty to do.

Hope everyone had a decent holiday, and I’m looking forward to the new year.

Leave a Reply

